MVM – Final Assessment (Music Video)

In this final assessment, I created a music video using the Nokia Lumia 1020 phone with a grip case attached to a small tripod. The video location was set in where I live, Porthcawl as I find it scenic and a good location to film in for this type of film.

My plan of the story in the film was to have only one character in it of which looked dazed and confused throughout, showing her walking on the beach and staring at the sea during the day and as night closes she walks into the fairground and finds herself in a hectic place, becoming more confused and then eventually to finalise the video, the character walks passed a missing poster of herself. This ending scene sums up the video of that the character has amnesia and doesn’t remember herself in having the case of memory loss.

The video itself was filmed over two days on different beach areas in Porthcawl as to the one I mainly wanted shown in the storyboard (Coney Beach). This was only a problem as of it being a busy public beach so I changed the location to film in more isolated areas in Porthcawl.

I was initially influenced by the song ‘Every Other Freckle’ by Alt-J. This was because the use of colour in the video and the character focus and close-ups. I analysed this in the first brief of this module which is posted below as well as the music video for it.

The editing process was done in the software Adobe Premiere Pro CS6. I created overlays of a few clips by changing the opacity, sped up/slowed down/reversed clips by using the speed/duration, and colour corrected the clips by using the three-way colour corrector, equaliser and levels. I also used basic effects such as the black and white effect and the cross dissolve. I didn’t add many effects as I wanted it to have a simple look and not ‘overdone’.

I am happy with the outcome of my video, however to improve again I would lower the ISO and always use the tripod as sometimes I filmed without it and is less stable.


Leave a comment