Final Project Ideas and Planning

As explained in the Pitch Document, I wanted to create a Graphic Score with a basic set of rules whilst incorporating some improvisation at a certain stage for each performer.

Here was the first Graphic Score that was set as a task in a previous lecture:

Graphic Score Task
Graphic Score Task

I did like the idea of using these sorts of shapes for the final Graphic Scores so I sketched a few ideas on what I would do for each score and what the key would look like.

Sketch Ideas
Sketch Ideas

I also sketched what I pictured the performance to look like:

Original sketch of the performance

The sketch is not as clear in the pictures but I drew the three performers (originally four but I felt three would be more effective) standing in a row with their instruments in front (floor tom and tabla, electric guitar, keyboard) with three/four red lights facing the performers to create an eerie atmosphere. I also wanted them to wear black clothing and masks to again bring a more intense and mysterious look visually and that with the red lights being the only lighting in the room it would show only them which I hoped would be effective.


I bought 3 plain, white masks:

Masks
Masks

I wanted plain masks and not eccentric masks as I felt this would take away the fact of the graphic scores and performance too much and was confident that these would be simple yet effective.


Despite imagining the performers standing upright with the masks on, when rehearsing, one performer put the mask on the top of their head and bent their back. I immediately thought it looked a lot better and strange therefore I kept the masks that way, bearing in mind we all had hair so I made a type of mask from old leggings to put over my face so it would cover everything.

Mask difference
Mask difference

At first I thought of having four graphic scores, 3 separate ones for the performers and one to show all of the scores on one piece for the audience. However, I found this not as practical and after talking to the lecturer I decided to opt for the projector and to show a slide show of pictures of the graphic scores:

Graphic Score Presentation

However, my presentation did not work on the university mac and I did not have my laptop on me so we went without it and afterwards, the lecturer suggested about having a film instead in the background of the masks which would look a lot more menacing. I filmed the performers that night dancing and then sped up and slowed down parts of the footage so it would have an added bizarreness.


This is what my final graphic scores looked like:

Final Graphic Scores
Final Graphic Scores
Keys of the Graphic Scores
Keys of the Graphic Scores

To look at them at a clearer view go on to the original Graphic Score Presentation to be shown on the projector.

I kept with the ‘shapes’ theme with diverse graphic scores for each performer however keeping the same symbols for pause, repeat and improvise section.


Leave a comment